Soybean Genetics Committee Report

2010-11 Committee Members: David Hyten (2011) (Chair), USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD Ricardo Abdelnoor (2012) Embrapa, Londrina, Brazil Pengyin Chen (2012), Univ. of Arkansas Suk-Ha Lee (2012) Seoul National Univ., Rep. of Korea Jennifer Yates (2012) Monsanto Corp., Galena, MD Kristin Bilyeu (2013) USDA-ARS, Columbia, MO Harish Gandhi (2013) Syngenta Seeds, Slater, IA George Graef (2013) Univ. of Nebraska Istvan Rajcan (2013) Univ. of Guelph David Grant (ex officio) USDA-ARS, Ames, IA Randy Nelson (ex officio) USDA-ARS, Urbana, IL

This year the committee reviewed 8 cases of which 5 cases received approval for new nomenclature symbols

Cases receiving approval:

Brian Diers:

Approved confirmed QTL designations, cqSCN-006 & -007 to be given to two SCN resistant QTL mapped from *G. soja* PI468916.

Rouf Mian

Approved the temporary gene designation request of [Rmd]_PI243540 for a powdery mildew dominant resistant discovered in PI 243540.

Randy Nelson

Approve Randy Nelson's request to name the following soybean alleles from a soybean gene which was associated with determinacy through transformation into Arabidopsis.

Final name	Source
GmTfl1-a	S-100
GmTfl1-b	Mandarin (Ottawa)
Gmtfl1-ta	Peking

Gmtfl1-bbCNSGmtfl1-tbSoysotaGmtfl1-abOgden

Ryoji Takahashi,

Approved Ryoji Takahashi's request for the gene symbol *w1-lp* for the light purple flower allele of the W1 gene which was discovered in the Glycine soja accession B09121.

Kerry Pedley

Approve Kerry Pedley's request of assigning the provisional gene name [Rpp5]_PI506764 to their mapped asian soybean rust resitance locus

The committee approved a major revision to its by-laws which will be posted on Soybase.org.

The committee voted to elect Wenbin Li (Northeast University of Agriculture, China), Michelle Graham (USDA-ARS, Ames, IA) and Robert Stupar (University of Minnesota) to serve three year terms (2011 - 2014) on the Soybean Genetics Committee. David Hyten is the only member completing his three year term.

The committee elected Istvan Rajcan (Univ. of Guelph) to serve as committee chair for 2011 - 12.