Since 2004, the Soybean Genetics Executive Committee (SoyGEC) has had the responsibility of representing both the soybean genomics and soybean breeding research communities. This has been accomplished in a number of ways. For example, the first GEC brought together members of the broader soybean research community together for a July 2005 meeting at St. Louis, at which the attendees developed a draft plan for future strategic research thrusts and then specific goals to achieve the strategic objectives. That draft plan, which was subsequently reviewed/revised by the broader research community, is now available at SoyBase. Another example is the many efforts by the GEC to work with federal, state, and other research funding agencies relative to enhancing soybean research funding. The GEC also attempts to assist and encourage collaboration among soybean researchers when large research grant proposals, such as SoyCAP are developed by the community. More about SoyGEC can be found on the SoyBase web site.

The current SoyGEC is comprised of Jim. Specht (Chair) and Randy Nelson (both have one year left of a 3-year term); Gary Stacey and Brian Diers (both have two years left), and Tommy Carter (recently elected to a 3-year term). A proposal was just put forth for a soybean research community vote to expand the GEC to six members, such that a each year two persons would be elected to 3-year terms, one from the breeding and genetics research community and one from the genomics research community, to replace members concluding their 3-year terms. If approved, the SoyGEC will have six members by the time you read this article.

Past SoyGEC members have included Randy Shoemaker (3-year term ended in 2006), Perry Cregan & Roger Boerma (2-year terms ended in 2005), and Wayne Parrot & Jim Orf (1-year term ended in 2004). The shorter terms of the initial GEC members were purposeful, allowing two member positions on the GEC to come up for election on an annual basis.

Elections to fill two open SoyGEC membership slots each year are held in late July. Next July, we will be asking you to nominate individuals for membership in the SoyGEC (self-nominations are also OK!). Once the new members are on board, the election of a SoyGEC Chair will then occur (usually in August or early September).

If you desire more information, or have questions, or simply desire to purse an issue relevant to the SoyGEC, please feel free to contact any current SoyGEC member.

-----

James E. Specht
Charles E Bessey Professor
of Agronomy & Horticulture
322 Keim Hall
East Campus - Fair Street
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68583-0915
jespecht@unlnotes.unl.edu